Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Government has used some of its money on art. That might be the reason why some people think that the authority should spend the money on something important. In my view, I agree with that statement. Therefore, in this essay, I will explain the reasons why I support this view. First of all, it is public money, it is gathered from the citizens through taxes. As a government, they should determine which aspect that needs their support. I would not to say that art is not important, however, there are other aspects that need to be fixed, for example, infrastructure. Why did I say that? Basically, infrastucture is the most essential part in a nation. It has to be built or fixed according to the need of this country, if it failed, the activity in that country must paralyzed and it will affect other fields, especially nations' economic. Secondly, art is just a part of human preference. It is not included in basic human needs like shelter, food, and accomodations. Thence, art should be categorized as a hobby. Even though it is true that it can bring some indulgence for a group of people, but remember, anything that makes you happy but not what you need, it can not be called as a need. For instance: video games. In the end, it is only a complementery thing, which means it is not substantial to support the citizens' life. In conclusion, I really agree that the authority should not spend their money more on art because it is a hobby not a substatial matter, instead of using it to some matter things, such as infrastructure.