In many societies in the world, the population is ageing rapidly and this is leading to an unsustainable increase in the cost of public healthcare. A nation’s population should pay for their healthcare provision in the future. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Healthcare is one of the substatial things in the human aspects. Many particular countries have faced a marked increase of ageing population as well as the cost of public healthcare. That might be a reason why some people think that individuals need to pay the medical treatments by themselves in the future. In my view, I disagree with that idea. Therefore, in this essay I would like to explain the plausible reasons why I said so. The first main reason is that it is not fair some certain groups of people. First of all, in every nation, there are citizens that live under poverty. They can barely pay their own households' bills. Think of that: if they can not pay their own daily-basic needs, how can they pay their medical treatments? If this term applies, the countries could suffer from epidemic disease such as Malaria disease in Indonesia in 2010. It can happen simply because they do not enough money. So, they choose to surrender on faith. Furthermore, it will affect the nations' health rate and lessen their wealthness. Secondly, since only rich people that can pay the doctors, doctors tend to choose rich patients, and forget their priority to support people lives without any term and condition. This is a tragedic occurrence, however, it is true and you can see all over the world. I can give you a basic overview about this. For instance, In Indonesia, some private hospitals are likely to choose patients that have an expensive health inssurance. The others, that do not have it, tend to be abandoned by hospitals' staff. Finally, it is about the money, because the hospitals also need money to run their business, if they do not behave like that, they could experience a bankrupt. In conclusion, if the medical costs are going to be the individual's responsibility, it would impact the doctors work and the worst case, it can lower the nation's health rate. Hence, in the end, I will reiterate my opinion that I disagree with the idea of giving the individuals responsibility to pay their own medical bills.