In the future it may be necessary for us to live on other planets. For this reason, some people believe that we should spend money now researching planets that could be a possible home, such as Mars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent decades, astronomers have discovered several habitable planets, such as Kepler-256 and Gliese 667. Therefore, some people argue that we should fund scientific research for astronomers who study planets that might become potential new homes in the future. This essay completely agrees with that statement because the tools used to conduct this research are very expensive. To begin with, the telescopes typically used by astronomers to search for habitable planets located millions of years away from Earth are exorbitantly priced. The reason these telescopes are so expensive is that their lenses are layered with gold. Therefore, these telescopes are able to provide astronomers with a clearer view during the night, as gold is scientifically proven to absorb more light in low vision conditions. As a result, the cost of a single telescope could exceed a million dollars. For instance, NASA invested around 2 million dollars in just one telescope. After astronomers find some planets using these multi-million-dollar telescopes, they usually conduct terraforming simulations. The aim of these simulations is to determine how oxygen and carbon dioxide could be used to make some planets livable. Therefore, supercomputers capable of performing millions of calculations in split-seconds are required to run these complex simulations. Building such marvelous computers requires an abundant amount of money. Take China's space agency's supercomputer, for example, which costs more than 10 million dollars. In conclusion, funding research to find habitable planets in the future is necessary because the tools used in this research, such as telescopes and supercomputers, are very expensive.