Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

These days, many individuals hold an opinion which suggests children should have a competitive mentality, while others believe those who learnt to work together can be more successful. This essay will attempt to justify both arguments as well as provide my own perspective which supports the former. The viewpoint that encourages the development of competitiveness in children can cause both positive and negative effects. On the bright side, it is undeniable that competition is one of the greatest motivation for anyone. For example, since ancient times, human civilizations use contests such as the Olympics to bring out the best of people. As a result, children who possess this trait should always try to improve themselves, compared to others. However, if competitiveness is used inappropriately, children can become arrogant and over-confident in themselves, which might affect their ability to work with others when they mature. The latter viewpoint also brings about both benefits and drawbacks. First of all, children who learn how to co-operate with others have the opportunity to deal with different circumstances and counterparts with different characteristics. This is quite beneficial since teamworking and negotiating are some essential skills to succeed in modern's life. For instance, many organizations in the world prefer applicants having great interpersonal skills while recruiting. Meanwhile, it can also act as a deterrent of children from trying to achieve the common goal and become reliant on other people. In conclusion, whether people should encourage children to be competitive or teach them how to co-operate with others remain a controversial topic and each has its own merits and demerits. However, I believe that having the motivation to improve is a great way to become a better person.