Question- Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Museums are a visualization of our histories, evolution and achievements. Some people think that entry to museums should be free as its a collection of prodigies borne out of the country's hard work while others believe that since its a costly affair to maintain and expand a museum's collection, charges on entry should be levied. I opine that the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages. A museum's collection needs to be ever-evolving to keep people interested in it. Even though tourists might always be enticed to visit the museums, locals might burn out of the banal collection. Consequently, getting new collection's from around the country or globally, requires a lot of resources in terms of scouting, sorting, handling, security and management. For instance, it is estimated that The Metropolitan Museum of Art of New York, houses artefacts worth over 500 million US Dollars. Evidently, a constant evolution of museums, needs funds flowing in on regular basis and entry fees act a helping factor to the same. Also, a museum needs to manage its visitors, keep the environment clean, handle repairs, and maintain artefacts. Some artefacts can be costlier to maintain than others. For instance, in the Vatican library of Rome, if the ancient books are exposed to natural conditions for long times, due to the pollution and constant wear and tear, it would be rendered useless in few years. Various artefacts have varying maintenance costs and in a free museum, the cost of that maintenance falls on the managing government. In conclusion, while a free museum could inspire more visitors, but a small entry fee can alleviate the various costs, rationalizing it among the citizen and the tourists. Thus enabling the visits much more cherishable and inspire recurring visits not only by tourist but also by the locals.