Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your opinion?

It this modern world, crime rates are increasing more than ever. To tackle this issue, a number of people think that unchangeable penalties should be introduced for each sort of criminal doing. Yet, other people feel that the context of a specific offence, as well as the reason for committing it, should be taken into consideration before reaching a final judgment. Those who support the introduction of fixed punishments have a number of reasons to support their viewpoint. Firstly, this would make court proceedings a lot quicker as judges would not need to decide on the severity of retribution for criminals. Secondly, as a result of the swift and rigid penalty system, many people would be deterred from engaging in a criminal act in the first place. For example, if potential criminals knew that the same sanction awaits them whether they robbed an ATM machine or a bank, they would reconsider doing it at all. This is why it can be argued that immutable penalization is the right solution for addressing the issue of crime. Nevertheless, one should not forget that people are living beings and as such, prone to a variety of wrong decisions. Because of this, deciding on crime according to the situation and motive for doing it, make perfect sense as it would ensure that lawbreaker is given a fair trial and the right punishment is handed down to him. For instance, a person that was a robbery victim and committed murder in self-defence would be judged accordingly, instead of being grouped into the same category with all the other types of murderers. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that the conditions of a misdeed should be carefully analyzed in order to come up with balanced and fair punishment. In conclusion, I firmly believe that punishment upon a law breach should be based on the factors that led to the unlawful action rather than providing judgement in reliance on classification crimes into types.