Some people think that living in big cities is bad for people’s health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that living in major cities takes a heavy toll on people ’s well-being. This essay completely agrees with this statement. The first argument supporting my opinion is that the living environment in many big cities is deteriorating, posing a direct threat to citizens’ physical health. With various job opportunities, large cities tend to attract a significant portion of people from other regions, contributing to the escalating population. More people inevitably means the rising demand for activities requiring burning fossil fuels to generate electricity, support transportation, and burn waste, from which most fine particles that pollute the air come. Living in major cities, with every breath taken, people tend to inhale harmful pollutants that can damage their lungs, hearts, and lead to a host of other health problems. The situation exacerbates when the growing population density also leads to skyrocketing property prices, which makes finding a good accommodation challenging for many people, especially ordinary office workers or the working class. Consequently, people have no choice but to live in cramped and substandard housing conditions, which may lack proper ventilation, sanitation, and maintenance. This can contribute to various health problems, including allergies, infections, and mental stress. In addition to physical wellness, the frenetic lifestyle in big cities also exerts adverse effects on people ’s mental health. To cover expensive living expenses and accommodation costs, many individuals in big cities must work hard; some even juggle multiple jobs to sustain their lives. This situation means that proper rest or quality time with family or friends is usually considered a rarity, causing many people to suffer from chronic anxiety, loneliness, and other mental ailments. For instance, Ho Chi Minh City, a metropolis in Vietnam, is infamous for its exorbitant costs, with a large proportion of young individuals suffering from mental exhaustion as they get stuck in the vicious circle of working most of the time and spending most of their salaries just to cover basic living expenses. This is why I believe that the fast-paced lifestyle coupled with the high cost of living makes living in big cities very stressful. In conclusion, I wholeheartedly agree that living in major cities brings about destructive impacts on both the mental and physical well-being of citizens.