Some people say that there is less communication between family members today than there was in the past. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent time, interactions between family members have been greatly minimized compared to what we have in the olden days, this has not only had an adverse effect on family alone but also interaction with business. I am of the notion that there is a communication gap in families these days, reasons being an advancement in technology and successful life. Firstly, about two decades ago, the traditions of extended families where the grandparent tells stories to the grandchildren and also teaching them morals has greatly reduced due to minimal interaction between families "nuclear family". Moreso, in Nigeria culture, children hardly reciprocate back to their parent, it is believed to be disrespectful and this has reduced the rate which they express their feelings to their parent rather prefer communicating with strangers. In addition, the advancement in technology has a negative impact on our society of today. They spend valuable time on the use of electronic devices such as telephones, laptops, television, games like PS4 and so on, also activities on social media has also forced people to be addicted these gadgets and confined people to their homes, thereby reducing verbal communication with families and this also limit their visitation. Moreover, the economic situation of the country has affected most homes which in-turn cause both parents to find means of livelihood, and their children in modern education, experiencing so much stress daily. For example in Lagos Nigeria, most people in paid employment wakes up as early as 4:30am and some never return home till 10pm or even later on daily basis. They leave their children solely on the mercy of the maid, also have limited time in attending family gathering rather than look for opportunity to rest and prepare for days ahead. In conclusion, I strongly agree that family knot in recent days has greatly decreased due to the economic situation and the desire to make ends meet. Therefore, I would recommend that every family must devote their personal time to eat, chat and have good time together.