In some countries, owning a house rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

House is one of the most crucial basic needs of human life. The idea of buying or renting a house varies based on the topography you reside in. While in developing nations people opine to purchase the house, in developed countries people ought to rent the house. I opine owning a property always pays off in the long run. In developing countries, people deem fit to purchase the house due to various factors socio-economic factors. As the property rates are always escalating and buying the house always reaps higher returns than any other form of investment. For instance, in India, real-estate has seen an average of 30% appreciation per year in the past 5 years. Also, considering the over-population and inflation in such countries, owning a house also ensures that future generations have their own roof to live under. Consequently, if one has to move, rent from the owned houses can be used to pay off the rent of the new place. In developed countries, where property rates have reached its peak, appreciation on investment might be marginal, making leasing a feasible option. A recent study delineated in Toronto a house can be as costly as 22 years of rent. Concurrently, in western countries, children rarely live with parents, so buying a house to ensure their children's future isn't a major concern. On the flip side, even though not owning the house seems viable, it also stips one off the benefits of earning rent, investment appreciations, and living rent free retired life. In conclusion, if we rent the house for decades, we don't own them at the end of the tenure, but buying a house enables us to generate a bunch of future financial and social positives. Thus deeming owning a house as a better option than renting one.