Science is beneficial for society, so science students should get more support. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Scientists work and study every day to discover things to help society. It is logical that doctorate and post-doctorate students have more support to continue researching. I completely agree with this statement because a lot of science students do not have benefits such as health insurance and they work overtime even weekends for lower salaries. Many doctorate students have finished their careers and must start to work in laboratories with zero experience. In addition, many mentors take advantage of this situation so, they do not give them benefits like health insurance and holidays. Even though, they do not have every necessary to research thus, is frustrating for them. In Argentina, there is a public institution that pays doctorate and post-doctorate’s postdoctorate’s salaries, and that is all. They do not have any other benefits because they are considered students. Once future scientist starts to work many tutors explode making them work long hours even on weekends, just to benefit their projects. Students cannot complain because they could lose their fellowships, furthermore, it is so hard to enter the system again if they are fired. This is unfair because student scientists work very hard to find solutions to society’s problems. During the pandemic of Covid, students and senior researchers worked together to discover the caused agent that produced a lot of deaths, however, students did not receive enough recognition for their work. In conclusion, science students are researching day by day to solve many of society’s problems, hence, it should be fair that they receive more recognition for their activities and more economic and psychological support from their mentors. Scientists are very important in our society.