Many people today do not know their neighbors as well as they did in the past. What is the cause of this problem? What can be done to solve it?

Nowadays, it has been observed that a lot of individuals do not know their neighbours as greatly as they did earlier. The main reason behind this complication is that we as people, prefer living in big houses. However, the plausible solution to this would be having a get-together over the weekends. To commence with, humans today are inclined towards purchasing humongous homes. In other words, these huge houses are spread across acres of land and have people next door who stay even further in a similar set-up. This has led to creating a distance amongst neighbourhoods, and homeowners being oblivious about their neighbours as the distance between the two is lengthy. This was not the case earlier, as individuals used to live in small homes and in close proximity where exchanging pleasantries and knowing them was as easy as it could get. For example, a survey by the esteemed New York Times published that 52% of Beverly Hills residents are unaware of their neighbours as they found their homes to be far away. This illustrates that bigger homes are fairly responsible for creating barriers about one’s individual surroundings. However, the possible solution to this issue is to socialise over the weekend. Elaborating it further, no matter how far or big homes are, planning a get-together over the weekends with people from around the area is a good opportunity in getting to know them. Moreover, this is a good chance to make friends with your neighbours. Case in point, a Google report from last year stated that 18% of Sheffield Bungalow citizens got to know each other when they started meeting regularly on weekend. In conclusion, there is no alternative to experiencing quality life in big homes and spending time with loved ones. In my belief, the primary reason of not knowing your neighbours is the opting of living in big homes, whereas the solution to solve it is to socialise