Students perform better in school when they are rewarded rather than punished. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Children get good grades in school whenever they are encouraged rather than physically abused. I personally believe that good appreciation is better than punishment to encourage students to do well in school. This essay will discuss both sides by taking examples from newspapers and journals. To begin with, a good appreciation for students work would eventually help them to do hard work next time to show better results. This is because, it motivates the child to perform well to get good feedback from the teacher again, and fellow students also get inspired by those words from their tutor. For example, the recent survey from The New York Times revealed that 80% of students are extremely happy whenever their teacher appreciated their work. As a result, they scored the highest marks in final exams. Secondly, torturing the student to get good scores in the exam could give good results, but this process will lead to affect their personal life. The matter of fact for this is, punishing the child in front of their peers would make them feel discouraged and they get paranoid at their teacher. Most importantly, this will make them lose interest in studies. For instance, a 12-year child in Japan got physically abused by their teacher for not performing well. Therefore, the child got a decent result in the exams, but mentally disturbed and got scared to attend school again. Finally, an encouraging word for the child would help them to study well. A punishing method could lead to discouraging them. So, I strongly believe that good support from the teacher would potentially help them the student to give their best, rather than abusing them physically before their friends.