Some people think governments should spend money looking for life on other planets, while others think that there are many unsolved problems on earth. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Ever since the first landing on the Moon about half a century ago, the human’s interest in and exploration of the outer space have never stopped. However, space exploration so far has not brought us the expected benefits, which makes certain individuals doubt whether it is worthwhile for the government to spend the vast amount of money developing space technology. Still, there are many people and authorities that are very enthusiastic about space exploration. They believe looking for alien life is always a way to explore the origins of human beings on Earth. In terms of practical purposes, finding any planets which resemble Earth would be beneficial for humanity. As many scientists speculated, overpopulation and massive pollution are causing much more burden to the environment and the Earth will eventually die and disappear into a black hole. We, therefore, need to find planets which are suitable for living to ensure human will not perish from the space. Those with a more realistic bend of mind tend to not support the idea of investing that much money developing space technology. They are generally concerned about education, poverty and crime issues and believed that, rather than squandering national funds on finding another form of life, it is more practical to help children who cannot afford tuition or those who don’t have easy access to medical treatments and get cured. Undoubtedly, such pressing problems as housing, education, and medical care ought to be taken care of by the government. Nevertheless, it is also the responsibility of the government as well as the UN to prepare for the future of the Earth. From my perspective, I do think that there should be a balance between the money spent on immediate issues and the future ones. Seen in this light, a reasonable investment in space technology is perfectly justifiable.