Government should dedicate extra funding to raising new buildings instead of preserving old buildings. To what extent do you agree with the statement?

A particular issue about architecture has raised quite a concern at home and abroad. Some individuals consider that instead of preserving relics, governments should allocate more extra fundings to construct new buildings. In my opinion, saying that tearing down old buildings is the best approach to regenerate cities not only carries a range of weaknesses, there are also other better countermeasures in this respect. On one hand, constructing skyscrapers indeed contain a spectrum of benefits. New buildings might to some degree offer more accommodations to address the problem of overpopulation. Moreover, giving citizens safer and more economical spaces for living as well as providing more job opportunities to societies while constructing. However, this practice is only a passive action to cope with those decrepit buildings. Since all the buildings are embedded with memories and history, therefore, dismantling relics will not only deteriorate the meanings of history, and also can be seen as a reaction which is a lack of assessing environmental consideration and can cause profound repercussions to the future civilization. On the other hand, there is a kaleidoscope of strategies to deal with historical buildings. For one thing, decrepit buildings may provide citizens chances to regenerate the economy, such as the revitalization of idle spaces, which can be served as galleries for entertainment purposes and also converted into restaurants so as to allure them more tourists to pay a visit. For another, these historical sites can be seen as iconic buildings, not only can these buildings represent local cultures, but also give both tourists and local people the opportunities to immerse themselves into the long-established history which can influence societies in a long-lasting way. In a nutshell, although setting up new buildings may impact people's lives in various aspects. Nonetheless, there are still other advantages of protecting history and preserving old buildings, ranging from offering chances to regenerate the economy situations to serving as iconic buildings to represent local cultures.