Most young people leave school with a negative attitude toward learning. Why do you think this is happening? What can be done to encourage them to have a positive attitude?

Most students are unsatisfied with their education and have a negative attitude when they leave school. This essay will present the underlying causes of such attitudes and propose respective solutions. There are several reasons why young people have a bad attitude to learning. The main problem for our current educational system is that schools constantly require students to do numerous assignments and take exams in the pursuit of high grades. Students’ grades become the only means to evaluate students’ academic performances and the quality of teaching. Given the great emphasis placed on grades, teachers are under the pressure to give students as many assignments as possible to ensure that they will perform well on school exams, leaving students with very little time to invest in their hobbies. Another issue is that schools tend to focus too heavily on teaching theories that are often inapplicable in the workplace rather than giving students hands-on experiences. For example, when studying Chemistry, instead of conducting actual experiments and gaining important researching skills, students spend more time balancing chemical equations on papers and attaining knowledge that is of little use to their future careers. As a result, youngsters from a negative mindset toward learning. However, there are some solutions to encourage students to have positive behaviour after leaving school. First of all, schools need to reform their assessment, methods and learning approaches. Instead of giving priority to test results, the education system should adopt a more holistic approach to evaluating students and assist students in pursuing hobbies and acquiring soft skills, which can fuel young people’s enthusiasm for studies. Another method to help curb students’ negative views of learning is to cut down on unnecessary lessons. Schools should only provide practical knowledge, which enables students to practice. Thus, students will realize the benefits of learning for their future after graduation. In conclusion, because of the current emphasis on grades and unnecessary theories learners have become unsatisfied with their education. However, to re-establish a positive attitude in learning, schools should innovate their evaluation and teaching methods and ensure that all that is taught to students have practical values.