Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since there is computer technology. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that maintaining public libraries is no longer necessary in this modern world due to the assistance of technology. In my opinion, although computers can have some merits, public libraries are still worth being maintained. There are some advantages when using an online source of information instead of traditional libraries. Firstly, using online sources brings convenience to users. It is because there is no physical boundary with digital libraries, while access to most traditional libraries is restricted in some certain time. This is consequently beneficial for those who have a hectic schedule and cannot visit physical libraries during operating time. Secondly, compared to public libraries, maintaining online libraries can solve the problem of deterioration. In traditional libraries, documents have to resist several handovers with the risk of being damaged; however, thanks to the digitizing of materials, books or other documents do not have to suffer the wear and tear. However, the preservation of public libraries is still necessary because of the distinctive features that cannot be substituted by the Internet. The first merit is that it is a vital mean of accessing information for technophobes such as senior citizens. These people are often afraid of using technology so they will opt to physical libraries which are more familiar to them. Furthermore, public libraries can offer a more reliable source of knowledge compared to the online source. Before being published, all the physical books have to experience process such as editing or reviewing by experts to ensure the accuracy of the information, while information on the Internet can be inaccurate and misleading as it can be created easily by users regardless of their knowledge. In conclusion, while the Internet can bring about some benefits, I am convinced that in the future, public libraries cannot die out because it can bring some advantages over the Internet.