In many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is a fact that people are able to buy groceries more easily from other countries in the world at supermarkets in this day and age. While I accept that it brings us several advantages, I also believe that it also has some drawbacks. On the one hand, I assume that purchasing food from various parts of the world creates a variety of choices when people go to supermarkets. Indeed, consumers have chances to access seasonal fruits year round, even if their places are unable to cultivate them due to the weather conditions. Another advantage is that international products may increase economic benefits. To be more specific, it helps global trade develop by generating a great deal of job opportunities in many fields such as logistics, import, and retail sectors. On the other hand, I suppose that this global development could bring about several disadvantages. Firstly, food safety and quality are not ensured. There exists the risk of spoilage or crushing owing to the difficulty in preservation during transportation, especially fruits and vegetables. Furthermore, the domestic economy and local agriculture may be impacted significantly. Local farmers and producers have to struggle to compete with imported goods since the number of consumers buying local agricultural products has declined. As a result, many local companies or farms may face bankruptcy. In conclusion, while it is true that supporting international products brings people several advantages, it seems to me that it is not always a viable option for everyone, particularly for local people.