Some people believe that the society should be based on rules and laws. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often said that rules are the things that separate us, human beings from animals. Some people think that rules and laws are quite important and our society should be based on them. I completely agree with this and think in order to maintain the proper functioning of nation, rules and laws should be above all. First of all, I believe that with predefined regulations, any country can move to reach its goal of development. In other words, if everyone is aware of their roles and responsibilities, they can help in the betterment of society and thus their country. For instance, everyone who is earing is entitled to pay income tax, as it is a law and by paying income tax we do our duty towards our society. Furthermore, laws bring equality which is another aspect of this. Everyone is treated as same and there is no racism based on colour, caste or sex. Rules make us a better human being. On the other hand, some people think that society should work on morals and not rules but there can be several drawbacks of this thinking. Firstly, a society is made up of small communities and each community have their own morals which can differ from each other. For example, in some cultures, alcohol is consumed during celebrations while in other cultures is morally wrong to have alcohol. So it would be difficult to decide on who is right and who is wrong. Secondly, there would be no one to regulate things such as price hike or taking the judgement. Everyone would have their own opinion. To conclude, I strongly believe that rules and laws are important for society as they define the integrity of society and help in the development of the country.