Many people like to wear fashionable clothes. Why do you think this is the case? Is this a good thing or a bad thing?

Considering today’s society, the number of brands and stores that offers exclusivity in their clothes is considerably increasing, due to the number of people that opt to wear fashionable clothes. The reasons for their interest in fashion clothes might be explained as a form of art and expression. However, this action, I firmly believe, has more drawbacks than benefits, as it can highlight the social differences among the population. On one hand, people interested in fashionable clothes claim that it is a way to express yourself. Although brands that offer fashionable clothes are considerably expensive compare to the others, people state that these clothes are a form of differentiating yourself from most of the people around you. In fact, some of the well-known fashionable brands, such as Gucci and Supreme offer exclusivity in their products by producing a limited number of each item. In addition, such clothes can be easily recognized in a picture, for example, and that might be the reason why opt to fashionable clothes, as they can show off online in an expectation to increase their social status. On the other hand, supporting such behaviour of the individuals might increase the social differences among them. Some people claim that, if they had not bought the fashionable clothes, they would have felt excluded from their group. For instance, many online videos called “what is your outfit”, which shows people describing their expensive and fashionable clothes, have an incredible number of viewers. To summarize, even though many of the individuals that choose to wear fashionable clothes state as a form of art, the pressure that it performs in the social individuals can considerably impact their lives and due to this fact, I strongly believe that the negative impacts are ultimately superior.