Many small, local shops are closing as they are unable to compete with large supermarkets in the area. What problems do it creates? How could this situation be improved?

From dawn of the time, individuals have bought their necessities from shops, however, in today’s climate, local shops have trouble competing with larger markets which has become a controversial minefield. It is a widely held view that this can lead to difficulties for customers and also financial problems, there do exist a number of measures that could play a key role in curbing the vexing issue of local shops. The main issue caused by closing the local markets is difficulty in accessibility. In other words, even in megacities, there are a few large markets in each neighborhood, therefore, it would be hard for citizens to access the shops in case of emergency and in bad conditions. An illustration of this fact is Berlin which is always snowy and rainy. If there were no local shops, it would cause significant trouble for city dwellers to commute in bad weather conditions. Another problem is that it can result in financial problems for local people. The more people lose their jobs, the more the country will be in recession. That is to say, if people become jobless, their purchasing power will decrease. To address the issue of closing small shops, there have been several solutions put forth, one of which could be an advertisement. Local shops can advertise their products in different manners such as radio or newspaper. Furthermore, they can offer provoking options like a discount or a kind of lottery that the one who won could buy certain things. Another solution is that the government should support new local shops to pass the initial problems. It is obvious that in the beginning markets do not have many customers, and consequently, income. So, the government can help them by giving them loans. What can be concluded from the discussion revolving around the issue of small shops ' competition with large ones is that the authorities and advertising can have a significant role in solving the problem.