Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste.

Pollution is one of the biggest problems of our planet Earth. To combat this problem, some crucial steps are required to be taken. One of the most effective ways to solve this issue is waste management and recycling. It is often debated that governments should enforce some laws to tackle it. In my opinion, defining policies is only a step to encourage recycling, while there are some other measures available as well that can accelerate this process. This essay will illustrate these points in detail. To commence with, enforcing policies is undoubtedly a very effective way to deal with waste management and other environmental problems. First of all, with this development,more citizens will practice recycling. Governments can levy heavy fines who will break the law. Moreover, people will think twice before dumping garbage irresponsibly. Furthermore, also governments can levy taxes for these purposes. The fines and taxes collected can be used to enhance infrastructure such as garbage collecting trucks, waste treatment plants. For Example, Swach Bharat Tax introduced by the Indian government has contributed a lot towards the venture of cleaning India. Consequently, there are some other methods also to reduce this issue. Firstly, education is a long-term solution to overcome this problem. Children should be educated from primary classes about the importance of properly dumping the garbage and various techniques of recycling. Moreover, governments can also start some programs to teach citizens how to divide their household waste for treatment plants. Likewise, communities can also start some campaigns to encourage people towards waste management. In a nutshell, it is apt to conclude that, although, by enforcing laws people will stick more firmly towards waste management. However, Governments and citizens should join hands to motivate individuals towards recycling, with a balanced mixture of policies and education.