Some countries achieve international success by building specialized facilities to train top athletes instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

To achieve international success, some countries tend to invest more in specialised facilities for top athlete training than general facilities for the public.There exists a debate about whether this is a positive phenomenon or not. From my perspective, I am inclined to stand neutrally with the situation as both sides are equally important. Initially, one of the main arguments in favour of the investment in building professional facilities to train top athletes is that their efforts will not only contribute to personal success but also national glory. Besides, fostering a top sportsman is not easy since it requires individual endeavours, professional guidance and installations which need a host of resources. Hence, governmental involvement will be effective support. Moreover, winning medals in global sports games can catch the eyes of the world and even lead to international success. According to the aforementioned, building specialized installations for top athletes plays an indispensable un earning national accomplishments. At the other end of the spectrum, arousing public awareness of exercise is vital to promote healthy lifestyles. In addition, installing regular sports facilities for general use is a crucial step to inspire citizens to exercise. For example, it is common to see sports facilities installed in parks. As citizens walk by several times, those installations may seize their attention someday. Not to mention those who get sports out of a kick,governmental facilities will save their expenditure on exercise because governmental ones are usually cheaper than private ones. Hence, public sports installations are necessary investments of the authorities for the sake of public well-being. To sum up, despite the fact that investing in specialized facilities for top athletes is beneficial to bringing about International success, the demand for general sports facilities cannot be ignored. As both are essential to creating national merits, the government should strike a balance between both sides when considering the distribution of expenditure and sources so as to best serve the interests of citizens.