Many governments invest a great deal of money in space research. What are the advantages and potential disadvantages of spending money on space exploration?

In recent years, many sovereignties have been investing a good amount of wealth in space exploration. Although it is stated that this exploration has certain advantages, some argue it has possible drawbacks associated with it. This essay will examine both the views, though I personally feel that it is disadvantageous because the government uses the taxpayers money for space exploration which could be used to rebuild the earth and eradicate poverty. To begin with the positive attributes, a crucial advantage that galaxy exploration has given would be the hegemony of a nation towards the others. During the cold war times, for instance, the USA and Russia were battling to send their spacecraft to the moon. Moreover, this would help them to be in power amongst the other nations in the world. In addition to this, exploring the cosmos will decipher the mystery of the universe. Even though the earth is a very beautiful place to live, it is finite and during the time of a catastrophe people might have to migrate to a different planet Nevertheless, travelling to the galaxy does have its own disadvantages. The investments for space research encumber the taxpayers. The reasons for it is that these investments are huge and the government usually initiates the tasks for cosmos exploration. Instead, this money could be used for rebuilding the earth and for eradicating poverty. To illustrate, the money which is used for space exploration could either be used for planting more forests and also to feed those living under poverty in the third world countries. Secondly, human lives are endangered when conducting such high-risk missions. For example, when NASA was launching their first space capsule to the moon, few astronauts lost their lives due to a mishap which had taken place in the spacecraft. In conclusion, despite the advantages such as demonstration of hegemony and deciphering the mysteries of the galaxy space exploration can bring, the cons also have to be taken into account such as the costs and danger to human life. In my opinion, government investing in cosmos research is a disadvantage as this money can be utilised to rebuild the earth.