More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people say that increasing the price of fattening foods will solve this problem. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, obesity and more specifically morbid obesity is increasing at an alarming rate. Many people believe that if the price of junk food increased the problem would be solved. I strongly disagree with the statement. First of all, in my opinion adopting a healthier lifestyle is absolutely fundamental, but it must come from within each person. For instance, poor dietary habits, unhealthy eating patterns and a sedentary lifestyle are major contributing factors to the exponential growth of the worldwide obesity epidemic. Take as an example the contrast between the proliferation of processed food in fast food restaurants against the explosion of the trendy burgeoning scene of healthy vegan and vegetarian eateries. Second of all, one of the principal causes for the enormous number of people consuming food containing a large amount of salt and unsaturated fat in staggering quantities is tradition. Civilzations Civilization in every part of the globe have prepared and eaten food in a certain fashion since the dawn of time, however these practices are considered unhealthy by modern standards. Needless to say, these practices are difficult to change as they are rooted in their way of life. Take as an example the Indians, most of them are vegetarians due to their religious and cultural beliefs. That being said, I think that there are a multitude of approaches to alleviate the world of this worrying predicament. In conclusion, I do not think that increasing the price of unhealthy food is the answer to solving the problem of the constant growth of obese people, the proper solutions would involve a cultural change and citizens being more health conscious.