As Earth runs out of natural resources, we have started to look to space for solutions. However, some people argue that this is the wrong thing to do, and instead, we should look for alternative solutions here on Earth. To what extent do you agree with them? What alternatives might there be to exploiting space for natural resources? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

With the rapid advancements of technologies in combination with the depletion of fossil materials on Mother Earth, a lot of scientists and entrepreneurs nowadays are seriously investigating the potential of not only space tourism, but a full-on colonization of different planets in our galaxy. However, some people are very concerned about this outcome and firmly believe that humanity should first exploit all possibilities on our own planet before moving anywhere. On the one hand, exploring our solar system for a potential place of habitat is a fairly logical solution. Throughout the entire history of humanity, we continued exploring the darkest corners of our own planet further and further. For example, the colonization of Africa and India and the discovery of America were direct results of natural resources seeking "campaigns" of the biggest European empires at that time. Therefore, once we have exploited all natural resources of our own planet it seems logical, that galaxy exploration is the next step of our evolution. On the other hand, space travel is still a very unknown area nowadays even with all the technologies we have nowadays. Furthermore, humanity has never really exceeded further than the Moon in our galaxy. If we truly reached our technological potential, we would have already landed on Mars by now. In addition, not only there is no evidence of the existence of natural resources on other planets, but there is also a list of drawbacks, including logistics, costs, staff training; and even hazards like radiation and gravity, without even mentioning the possible encounter of aliens and the harm it could bring. In conclusion, while I understand the impetus of space exploration, I'm not convinced that this is the right choice in a modern world. After all, considering the downsides we might have, right now we should fully concentrate on preserving fossil materials we have on Earth rather than looking to other planets for a solution.