In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

It has been observed that many individuals choose to shop at shopping malls or centres, it forced the small local shops to close in past few years. In my opinion, it is a positive development because the state earns more taxes and consumer buying habits increase sell which supports the country’s GDP. Firstly, people nowadays choose large city centres and malls because they find almost everything they need, from day to day grocery to occasional purchases as well as there are places for kids to play and family to eat under one roof. In addition to hassle-free for individuals, it is a plus point for government in terms of tax collection, as most of the small shops do not fall under the tax brackets. In the recent report, the Pakistan government has collected extra Rs.970 Millions for the quarter target of July-Sep 2020. Secondly, many countries are struggling in boosting their economies and on way to do that is cash circulation. People are mostly buying more than they need in these places. However, local stores or outlets earn to run their houses and they hardly invest back in their businesses which lead in less cash circulation. In a recent survey, in Bangladesh, due to the change in buying habits and purchase power, economy boost up to 40% and it can be observed in many other developing countries. In conclusion, a few years ago, native shops closed due to individuals move to large shopping plazas to do purchasing. I believe it is a positive development as it is easy for everyone and beneficial for the country.