There is a trend of increasing amounts of consumer goods, which leads to environmental problems. What are the reasons for this trend? Give your own opinion and solutions.

There is an ongoing trend that environmental problems are exacerbated due to the increase in the number of consumer goods. In this essay, I will examine the reasons behind this issue and explain why I consider that this problem is significant, and we need to implement possible solutions as soon as possible. To begin with, the most serious aspect regarding the rise of consumerism is that the majority of products which we consume in our daily lives are wrapped in plastic. For instance, in Japanese supermarkets, almost every good, including meats, snacks, fruits and liquid cleaners, needs to be packed in plastic due to several laws. Moreover, those plastic packages emit harmful gases including carbon dioxide after they are disposed of and burned. In other words, as people consume more goods, the total amount of plastic waste increases, leading to greater emissions. Therefore, one of the prominent factors damaging the environment is increasing plastic trash. Furthermore, consumerism generates not only a greater number of plastic packages but also more industrial waste. For example, in snack factories, companies use several types of chemicals to add flavours and to keep products fresh for longer periods. However, those chemicals are sometimes remarkably harmful to the environment because they become toxic to wild animals and plants. In fact, in some Asian nations, the usage of those chemical liquids is gradually being prohibited due to serious impacts on nature. Thus, surging amounts of industrial waste can be considered as one of the reasons for this problem. However, there are some solutions, and some countries are practically implementing them. As one example, the Japanese government introduced taxes on plastic waste, and they consequently achieved the KPIs regarding the reduction of plastic use. What is more, this country is currently planning to apply this tax policy to the private sector as well. By doing so, it can be expected that carbon emissions will be reduced radically in the future. Hence, I suppose that governmental actions are essential to mitigate negative impacts on the environment. In conclusion, the notable reason for this issue is the waste generated by consumption and production, but these behaviours are significantly important for our lives. Therefore, to resolve this problem, I believe that governments need to act and directly tackle the most fundamental aspects of this issue by implementing several policies.