Some believe that advances in technology are increasing the gap between rich and poor while others think the opposite is happening. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, it has been known by many that a society’s civilization can be measured by technological advances that a nation has. This essay will discuss how such advances can increase the gap between wealthy and poor in the first paragraph and how the gap can be decreased in the second paragraph between them. To begin with, one of the most crucial negatives of technological improvements is the nemplyment employment rate. Recently, many companies all around the world are keen on robots instead of humans in many tasks and jobs. For instance, it has been shown that the European manufacturer relies highly on machines and robots in the manufacturing process. In the fifties of the last century,the company was producing one- third of production when compared to today. For this reason, many humans are losing their jobs due to such an advancement. Another significant point is that there are still some nations who do live in a miserable situation did not even hear about the term technology in their lives. For example, most of the villagers in the Amazon in South America still live the life of ancient people, they lack electricity, roads or even schools. Nevertheless, if governments exploit the resources of technological advances, the gap between the poor and rich can be minimized dramatically. Take the United Arab Emirates, for example, this country was a complete desert back in the middle of the last century. Their citizens lived a simple life as they were using camels in their transportation until the Sheikh of Emirates decided to make the difference after having the oil discovered in the seventies. Now, the UAE is the favourite place for many people around the globe whether for tourism or mega-companies. The UAE is considered as a great example of a paradigm shift from the ancient to modern life. To conclude, we have talked about the effects of modern technology on increasing and lowering the gap between wealth and poverty. I personally think that it is the government’s responsibility to encourage their people about the benefits of modern technology.