You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, extracurricular education plays a pivotal role in humans’ lives. However, there are some people who believe that it is more important to spend time learning the main subjects in order to pass the qualifications. In response to these arguments, I strictly believe that learning the main and the additional subjects are advantageous for students for some reasons that will be set out below. On one hand, studying additional material outside of the main scope of the curriculum may provide numerous benefits for students, as they are able to gain a broader range of knowledge outside of their main interest. In the era of collaborative learning, this method is clearly beneficial for them because it is easier for them to start a project with a larger scope of topic, while maintaining their main subject as the foundation. For example, those who pursue computer science in university will be able to implement their knowledge in the healthcare sector if they take biology or pharmacy as a minor in their college, in the form of fitness-related applications. Nevertheless, they may not be able to be specialists in their main sector. On the other hand, students who specialize in their main scope of their study will excel in terms of in-depth knowledge, compared to ones who take majors and minors in college. Furthermore, they will be able to intensify specific curriculum, because some jobs require their applicants to have degrees as specialists. It can be seen in data scientist jobs, where intense knowledge regarding machine learning and artificial intelligence are required to make relevant and accurate decisions in a company. Despite its versatility on the aforementioned job, this may lack flexibility for some people who have not decided on their career path. In conclusion, while collaborative learning provides a broader range of knowledge and flexibility, focusing on specific subjects may also be beneficial depending on the circumstances.