As languages such as English, Spanish and Mandarin became more widely spoken, there is a fear that many minority languages may die out. Some countries have taken steps to protect minority languages. What is your view of this practice?

Nowadays, in the era of globalization, some languages, for example, English, Spanish and mandarin, are becoming more popular and spreading widely throughout the world. Inevitably, the minority language speakers have been under pressure to speak the languages more dominant groups, both locally and globally. This trend is likely to involve the disappearing of unpopular languages. Although some people argue that it is nothing that can or should be done to stop this process, I would suggest the issue merits more careful consideration. It is true that as a balance of power throughout the groups of people shifted, languages have arisen, changed and died out. Even widely-spoken languages, such as Latin, have disappeared. To some extent, therefore, this process may be inevitable. However, there are several examples of communities that have managed to preserve or even revive languages under threat. For example, the Uzbek language has been preserved by a government, educational system and media. There are, indeed, some benefits of preserving languages. Since language is an aspect of culture, that is expressed through songs, literature and local traditions. These all contribute to the richness and variety of human culture. Moreover, speaking in local languages helps the government to arose a strong sense of identity and patriotism among people. So, it can help to establish strong to adversity and cohesive society. Where this sense of identity, patriotism and cohesion has been lost, for instance among indigenous of some countries of Africa, problems can follow: low self-esteem, lack of confidence and even rebellion. To conclude, It is possible in many cases and desirable to preserve minority languages. This can have benefits both for minority speech communities and whole in terms of cultural richness.