It is often thought that the increase in juvenile crime can be attributed to violence in the media. Do you agree that this is the main cause of juvenile crime? What solutions can you offer to deal with this situation?

In the last years, the reason for the increase in juvenile crime is often discussed. All different formats of media, such as television, newspaper, and the internet have shown news related to violence. Certainly, the media is not the main cause of violence. It just tells people what news is relevant at that moment. However, mainly in children, this type of news can have any influence on their behaviour if they have access to it. There are contributing factors to why the rate of juvenile crime is increasing due to the violence in the media. Firstly, nowadays children have easy access to a variety of contents in the media. Young children are raised playing violent games and with unlimited access to any kind of content on the internet. Recently was developed a research about the relation of violent video games to adolescent aggression. The results showed that there was a significant positive correlation between exposure to violent video games and adolescent aggression. Based on this research, I can be convinced that exists an influence on the violent content on juvenile behaviour. However, imposing strict regulation on content could prevent a lot of these happenings. While movies are rated for the suitability, there is no such provision for games and on internet access. In conclusion, I strongly stand by the idea that violence in the media is one of the reasons behind the juvenile crime and the way to prevent it is by ensuring restricted access for kids to these kinds of content. However, I am convinced that the media is not the main cause of violence.