More and more plastic wastes are polluting in world cities, countryside and oceans. What are the problems caused by plastic waste? What measures should be taken to solve it?

The amount of trash pollution is growing in both lands and water. This phenomenon contributes to the spreading of microplastics and harming the marine animals. To address these issues, the government should limit the use of plastics and enact a law to ensure that the factories take part in recycling the plastics. The proliferation of plastic pollution in the ecosystem causes microplastics to be found everywhere. Microplastic is small plastic bits and it is ubiquitous in lands and oceans. Creatures can ingest microplastic unconsciously and this can be accumulated in their body. In the long run, it will degrade health. This tiny thing also exists in the air and it becomes easier to spread. Research has shown that microplastic has been detected in human lungs in unprecedented small size. In addition, any form of plastic like containers and wrappers can be ingested by animals in the ocean. They mistake trash for food due to the colour of the packaging. They cannot digest the wastes and they may end up dying because their digestive systems are full of plastics. Navigating through this predicament, the government should start to set limits on plastic usage. For instance, single-use plastic bags from the supermarket should be changed to paper bags or boxes. Paper bags are relatively easy to recycle and paper boxes are more durable, allowing consumers to reuse them. Cities in Indonesia like Jakarta and Surabaya have implemented this rule to help lower the rates of plastic trash. Moreover, the plastic wastes that exist in the environment should be collected and the authority should force the manufacturers who rely greatly on plastic as containers to contribute to the recycling process. Like carbon credits, there is an urgency to make all of those companies responsible for maintaining a plastic -waste-free environment. In conclusion, the increasing amount of plastic pollution causes issues such as the spreading of harmful microplastics and threatening marine animals by ingesting the rubbish. To solve these problems, the government should implement a standard to curb plastic use and enact a law forcing manufacturers to take part in recycling their plastic garbage.