Some people believe that countries should produce the food to feed their population themselves and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that countries should grow foods and serve them to their citizens instead of importing them. I completely agree with this opinion and think that producing food products domestically is essential in today’s world. First of all, I believe that producing food across the country leads to people access the foods by first -hand and in urgent. Unless a country produces its own food stuffs, its food supply needs other nations’ bolsters. This situation causes citizens unsettled and unsecured against their country. For example, lacking of stable food products in a specific city initially can make a chaos locally and if the country proceeds to not produce these products, the chaos can expand countrywide. That’s why it is important to manufacture its own food products as a country on its own lands. Secondly, producing foods provides cost prices cheaper than importing them from another country. In other words, there is a strong relationship between prices and foreign trade. Countries which grow their own food products can easily cope with inflationary trends and they know confidently such a trend will recover in the long-run. For instance, if there is no wheat producing in a country and that country continues to not produce, this circumstance brings about to increase wheat and its derivatives’ prices progressively. Thus, countries need to produce their foods themselves to hold the inflation at a lower band. To conclude, I strongly believe that producing its own foods as a country is important for both its society’s serenity and its economic system’s stability.