In many cities there is a lack of space to develop and as a result, in order to modernize, old buildings are demolished and replaced with new buildings. What are the disadvantages of knocking down old buildings? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

With the advent of modernization, people are migrating from villages to towns and due to this capacity of towns are decreasing. As a result, ancient buildings are getting turned down. There are numerous drawbacks like losing one's culture and its importance. This essay will give reasons that there are more cons compared to benefits. Firstly, one of the main reason not to replace the old monuments is to save our culture. These places should be preserved because of their historical and cultural significance. They are the reminder to present generation that we should respect our ancestors, by valuing ancient structures and what happened in the past. Buildings such as shrines, temples and forts are those places that are worth to be kept because of their influential value and history of that time. Secondly,even though these monuments are old, they play a vital role in a country's investments. As these places contribute to saving funds and income because many tourists came to visit these places. Eventually, more holidaymakers mean more income. For example, Jallianwala Bagh and Golden Temple are historical buildings which are of great importance, Sikh value and history is related to these places. However, a certain section of people thinks that knocking down these old places into the new building is useful because city life is more advanced and provide more employment. Therefore, to make room for individuals, turning down ancient building which is derelict is a better idea. For instance, Dubai is famous for its skyscraper and lavish standard of living and this is due to turning the ancient places. To conclude, I believe there are more drawbacks rather than benefits as these places represent our culture and history. Turning down means forgetting our ancestors and their sacrifices. The Government should look at other ways of creating space for the people.