In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

It is a common state of mind for citizens of some countries that owning a home is essential. That cultural habit has been formed over the years and has some obvious pros and cons. For many people,it is highly important to have their own roof over their heads. For example, in Russia,if you rent an apartment instead of buying one, you might be considered as a successful person. In this way, owning property became a measure of personal achievement. Furthermore, people could decorate their own apartments in the way they like, while those who rent may not get permission from a landlord for making changes. Some people also do not want to invest in redecoration and new furniture because they will leave this place that’s why there is no reason to make this place more comfortable. In addition, owning a place of living provides a feeling of stability and understanding that a person will always have a home to live in, which is vital for people in many countries. Moreover, apartments or houses are proved to be a good way for investment. On the other hand, more and more people nowadays prefer renting. First of all, renting is cheaper than buying. From a personal experience renting might be the only option as it 1,5 or 2 times less expensive. Secondly, if a person changes a working place, he or she could easily find a new apartment nearby if necessary. Thus, people who rent could move to a new place any time they need and there are always offers with a good rental price. To conclude, I think that renting is the best option for people 18-35 years old as they could move to different cities or countries and not be stuck in one place, also at this age majority of us cannot afford to buy a property. However, having your own home is still a good thing.