Some people believe that children should stay in school until the age of 18. Others suggest that educating till the age of 14 year is enough. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

It is often believed that it is imperative for adolescents to stay at school until they are 18 years old, while others ponder that 14 years of education is sufficient. Although dropping out early from school can provide economic benefits, I agree with the former assertion and believe that completing 18 years of education has an immensely beneficial impact on job prospects, hence providing better opportunities to prosper. To begin with, 14 years of school education is adequate for children, as per some people. This is because, the cost of extending the period of compulsory education is exorbitantly high, which is not practical for everyone to afford easily. Besides, many families need their children to make economic contributions to their family income; leaving school and joining workforce earlier can be an advantage in such circumstances. For example, according to a recent survey conducted in the UK, majority of the parents stated that it is for the financial reasons primarily, that children opt to drop out from schools early; therefore, had it not been for the cost-saving features, the decision of quitting school prior to the usual age would have seemed preposterous. Conversely, and as I opine that completing school at the appropriate age of 18 is more appropriate. This means that it provides better opportunities to enter universities or other forms of tertiary education. Not only this, it tends to offer superior employment chances as well; for instance, in Japan, a great majority of students voluntarily stay in education even after the compulsory education years because of the aforementioned reasons. Hence, it is for high-quality tertiary education and job benefits, that completing 18 years of education has become essential. In conclusion, it is frequently asserted that completing school till 18 years has become indispensable, whereas others reckon that quitting education at 14 years of age is more appropriate. Despite being unacceptable to some, I agree with the former belief and opine that completing school at 18 years is necessary in terms of providing better tertiary education and employment opportunities.