Nature of the overall Engineering Project and my particular Work Area

I involved in this project to apply my engineering knowledge and acquire new knowledge. I had experience with Shell welding lines, Crankshaft lines, and Laboratory and Power Press machines, so I decided to apply my knowledge to these machines. My whole career is related to the Installation, Commissioning, and Maintenance of different machines and systems, so I also engaged in these activities here. Some of my academic works and subjects also aligned with these activities. The primary focus of this Kappa project is to increase the production capacity by 200% to meet internal and external demand. The Walpha compressor plant's maximum capacity was 1.6 million per year, whereas the capacity of the Kappa plant was 3.2 million a year. Thus, the total capacity would be 4.8 million per year. The secondary objective was horizontal integration by acquiring the three renowned brands of Europe such as ACC, ZEM, and VOE, which may lead to entry and spread in the European market. The budget for this project was 150 million dollars, and the time limit was 18 months. During the initiation phase, I had to work closely with different departments for the feasibility study. Comparing the cost of new plant installation with the cost of acquisition, we found that the acquisition was more cost-effective and beneficial as we were getting three new brands. Thus, we finalized to buy and carry this plant from Italy and then install and commission it in Bangladesh. The project's key deliverables include Project Charter, WBS creation, Team Charter, Integrated risk management, Issue Management, Risk Register, Issue Register, Document Management, Calendar Integration, etc. It is a multi-phase project. The phases are dismantling at Belluno in Italy, carrying to Bangladesh, and Installation and commissioning in Bangladesh. There was a significant constraint for us to implement the dismantling phase in Italy, in which the environment, culture, food habits, and language were different from ours.