Countries should start using nuclear power as their main source of energy; fossil fuels (i.e. coal, oil and gas) are not going to last forever and nuclear power is the cheapest alternative. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is stated that nuclear power serves as the best option to replace fossil fuels as a primary resource to generate power for nations because it is affordable and sustainable. However, this essay opposes that statement because it holds the potential to risk citizens if the nuclear being leaked and there are other alternative sources of energy available. Generating energy from nuclear power means risking the life of many organisms because of its leakage. The nuclear itself is composed of many radioactive substances that potentially create chemical mutations. This biological effect may cause cancer to any living organism as they are exposed to its radiation. The event that happened in Chernobyl, Michigan is one of the concrete examples of where nuclear-powered energy had failed. The area itself had been isolated for years because of the intoxicating effect that killed many organisms. Aside from nuclear power, other sources of energy can be utilized and serve greener options for nations such as solar panels and hydropower technology. Both solar panels and hydropower technology are sustainable and affordable in the long term. Many big-scale manufacturers have been working to provide efficiency and advancement for this kind of technology as the raw materials are also easily obtained. Giant solar panels have been deployed to many Indonesian lakes, for instance, the installations in Jatiluhur Lake have provided electricity to three big provinces in West Java, Indonesia, and also saved the cost over more than 20 percent. In conclusion, nuclear power holds the potential to leak and endanger the surroundings. In addition, there are alternatives that serve the same purpose and are environmentally safe such as solar panels and hydropower technology.