Some people choose to eat no meat or fish. They believe that this is not only better for their own health but also benefits the world as a whole. Discuss this view and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Eating habits across the world varies with the customs and traditions followed in countries. Eating vegetarian or non-vegetarian food also depends on the tastes and preferences of people. Many people are of the opinion that avoiding meat or fish has its own health benefits and proves beneficial for the world as well. I personally feel that not eating meat or fish is a healthy habit and has its own benefits. This essay will further elaborate on the reasons. To begin with, healthy eating habits are gaining a lot of momentum and people across the world are making this part of their lifestyle. Individuals have become very choosy on what they wish to eat to remain healthy and in shape. Meat has a lot of fat content and excessive consumption of it leads to deposition of this fat in the body. In the long run, this will lead to many chronic diseases like obesity, cholesterol and even heart blockage. People across many countries have turned vegan and this has become a fad in today’s world. They have started to avoid meat and fish and have started consuming more vegetables and other kinds of proteins. For instance, as per the survey conduction by the National Health Department, statistics show that 20% of the populations have turned vegan due to obesity and high blood pressure after consuming meat. Secondly, slaughtering and killing of animals have become a huge issue in various countries. In some nations, this is against their tradition or customs. For example, in India, Hindus worship cows and they are considered very sacred. They are offered milk and grass and are treated as Gods. The killing of cows is considered as going against their religion and is strictly forbidden. To recapitulate, eating meat or fish is more of an individual choice. However, it is proven that avoiding it and replacing it with more greens and proteins like eggs in their diet has definitely proven to be very beneficial to people’s health and for a good lifestyle in general.