Some people believe that parents should limit their children’s hours of watching tv and playing computer games, but encourage to read books. Do you agree or disagree

It is often argued that encouraging children to spend more time reading books is better than allowing them to play digital games or watch movies. While there may be valid arguments to the contrary, I personally believe that the benefits of engaging with books from childhood far outweigh electronic entertainment tools. The reasons for this are as follows. First of all, increases children’s efficiency and productivity at school, reading books, leading to better performance in academic life. In other words, reading books makes children familiar with the contents and subjects that are going to be learnt at school. This preparation assists them in learning taught lessons conveniently and easily and reaching higher scores, compared to their peers who spend their time playing games or watching films. According to statistics from Oxford University, substituting books for useless screen consumption increases students’ educational performance by 40%. Therefore, motivate them to extend their studying habits throughth life, these accomplishments. Secondly and even more importantly, though, is the capability of reading habits in nurturing intelligent and clever individuals. It would be convenient for some lenient parents to entertain their children with more attractive digital entertainment tools. Meanwhile, enduring the difficulty of drawing their attention toward books and challenging their brain ability with habits such as reading makes it sharper and smarter, leading to innovative thinking and problem-solving skills. A salient example of this is Maryam Mirzakhani, who commenced reading books at the age of 3 and eventually, received the Nobel Prize for her advanced solutions to mathematical issues. That is why reading books should override inefficient pastime activities. In conclusion, games and movies should be replaced with books in the process of raising kids because they highly enrich the human mind and bring tremendous academic achievements.