In many countries nowadays, people still live with their parents after marriage and also after having children. Do you think this trend has more advantages or disadvantages?

In recent times, several individuals from around the world still live with their parents even after their marriage and having a child. Although it is stated that youngsters living with their parents have to deal with certain drawbacks, it is also argued that there are innumerous advantages when people live with their parents after getting married. This essay will demonstrate both the positives and the negatives of the people who live with their parents, though I personally feel it is an advantage because both the parents and the individuals will be benefitted from this. On the one hand, there are crucial advantages linked when people live in a joint family. Considering the perspective of the parents, they are looked after during their old age days. In India, for instance, parents usually live with their offsprings and are not left in aged care homes, as this helps them to be taken care of by their own children and grandchildren at the time when they feel low. In addition to this, looking into the children’s point of view, they are supported either financially or with a piece of advice. Even though people who are married are matured enough to take their own decisions, they still need advice from an experienced person during their difficult time; and this is where parents come into their support. Finally, living in a joint family would help the grandchildren as well. As they are fostered by their grandparents and not in a day-care centre, which also indirectly helps the individual to save on their finances. Clearly, there are innumerous advantages when people live with their parents even after getting married. On the other hand, despite the advantages, there are some disadvantages related to be a part of the joint family. Although joint families would help in advices and in monetary aspects, it also affects the privacy of a couple. In many cultures, for instance, many newly wedded couple’s marriages have failed because they did not have their privacy whilst having to live in a joint family. Moreover, many a times, there are arguments which take place when individuals live with their parents after being married and having children. This may cause problems such as loss of peace at home and also impact the mental health of the child. In short, youngsters living with their parents after marriage may have to face certain problems. In conclusion, even though there are advantages and disadvantages associated when people decided to live with their parents. I, however, believe that when people live with their parents it is advantageous. As this would help all three generations and also develop a positive bonding amongst themselves.