The best way to motivate employee is to increase their salaries. Do you agree with this statement? Are there any other ways to encourage employees to work more efficiently?

Nowadays, competition among companies has increased significantly and they need to motivate employees to give more profit. In order to increase the motivation of staff members to work more efficiently, some companies consider increasing the salary. I disagree with this method and in this essay, I will explain the reasons and give some alternatives that can be considered more efficiently to improve employee performance. Although there is a correlation between salaries and productivity, I believe that implementing this method will be inefficient. This is because a lot of budgets will be spent. Furthermore, it affects short-term circumstances because employees will be motivated just a few times after applying this solution. they will become accustomed to the new salaries and their motivation will become decrease again. Some alternatives can be implemented to improve staff member performances. The first alternative that can be considered is a special bonus based on achievement. This is because basically, every staff member wants to get more money and improve their career. Therefore, this policy can attract them to work more productively. For instance, the finance industry usually implements bonuses such as money and travel overseas. Moreover, businesses can make a program such as 'employee of the month' that recognizes their achievement in gaining profit. This action will make them happy because their efforts are recognized by stakeholders. All things considered, increasing salaries becomes a good motivation for employees to work more efficiently. However, I believe that this policy is not efficient and unsustainable, and we can take another approach to motivate them with special bonuses and recognition for those who improve their achievement.