In many workplaces, online communication is now more common than face-to-face meetings. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Technology has been changing the working environment of most companies nowadays. Adding to it the fact that the information exchange is priority online. It is believed that this new work patterns have several benefits as making communication faster and by reducing costs. However,there are also drawbacks to put into a count. There been no necessity to attend meetings personally with this technology, it is almost a truism to say that this new tool has reduced costs effectively turning most of the business cheaper than it used to be. People no longer have do spend money with taxi or bus to commute during weekdays which reduces the money spent on fares and as consequence raising companies' profits. It is also a important to remark that virtual connections had also turned the information exchange pretty must faster because all it is needed in order to reach a contact is pressing a button and send an invitation. On the other hand, this new era has some downsides that must be observed consciously. For example, to attend meetings it is important that people make sure having a good internet connection and do not miss any important detail exposed during online meetings. It is completely normal people lost connection due to maintenance at their localization which certainly can bring a lot of concerns. Another important aspect that people might thrive is the lack of human interaction. For instance, they will not have a chance to ask for their colleagues or bosses to have lunch together which can be detrimental. This could be the overriding cause of depression in this type of environment. In conclusion, while work environment could enjoy the benefits of making communication faster and decreasing the business costs, there are also some downsides to look out for is making sure that employees have a good internet connection or the lack of human interaction. All in all, certainly the benefits are a way more important than the issues involved in the new era of human communication.