Some people believe that reading stories from a book is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree? [538]

Many people favor books over television and digital games on the grounds of their impact on children. There is little to disagree with this notion, on which I will elaborate later. First, unlike the more laid-back information consumption pattern inherent in television and gaming, books can help young readers cultivate their creativity. Without hardly any eye-catching illustrations, lively sounds, and interactive gimmicks offered by most television TV programs and computer games, children readers are required to proactively imagine all the settings, characters, and events described in their reading materials. This cognitive process fosters their children’s visualization ability and observational skills. Furthermore, the sustained concentration required for reading cultivates attention span and self-discipline, essential attributes for academic and lifelong success To further buttress my assertion, I note the fact that reading books offers has several health unattainable through television or computer games. While screens transmit blue light rays linked to vision impairments, books pose no such risk if readers are provided with adequate lighting. This immensely eases parents’ worries about their offsprings’ eyesight. Conversely, TV viewers and gamers are susceptible to mental disturbance. This is substantiated by the fact that excessive digital device use before sleep often leads to insomnia and daytime fatigue. If left to persist, such symptoms will gravely deteriorate children’s cognitive functions and subject them to mental diseases such as stress and depression. In conclusion, children should be incentivized to read books instead of watching TV or playing computer games. I take this stance on the grounds that books provide tremendous creative, cognitive, and health advantages unparalleled by television and computer games.