Doctors recommend that older people should get regular exercise. However many older people do not take enough exercise. What could be the reason for this? What can be done to encourage them to take exercise?

There has been a worrying trend that elderly individuals do not pay the required attention to physical fitness as advised by professional physicians. This trend can be ascribed to several reasons and it must be addressed by definite actions. The primary reason is that ageing leads people towards low physical energy as well as bone density, due to which the elderly avoid exercises in fear of bone fracture and muscle injury or pain. For instance, my 70 years old grandmother was highly conscious of her fitness. However, recently she got bone twister while walking in a park and faced muscle strain, due to which she had been in a wheelchair for three months. Now she prefers to avoid any intense physical activities. Another clear reason is that lack of intensive knowledge about diverse and safe exercise trends according to their age. For example, one of my close uncles is very enthusiastic about physical fitness but he was not aware of different exercises with slow physical movements which are specially designed for old age people and also highly secure and effective. I recently shared some youtube videos to help him. In addition, Lack of interest is the biggest reason for no physical activity. Some people do not keen on a workout at an early age so they stick with their habit till the end of their life even if the doctor suggested them to cure a deadly disease. A number of strong measures must be implemented to tackle this sensitive issue.The first solution is that there should be proper places like parks and tracks for the elderly so that they can do walk, stretching exercises without any fear of hit by a vehicle on roads as we see commonly. For example, in 2019, the USA psychologist proved that children and older people show more eagerness to do any activity such as exercise, in a group rather than alone. Moreover, in parks, they get a chance to have group activities with the same aged people. The more they will see others doing exercises, the more they will be encouraged. Besides this, the Social high authorities should arrange some health programs and free yoga classes to encourage them as well as to equip them with skills on how they can use safety gear Such as gloves, knee pads for safe and secure physical activities. To conclude, there is a number of reasons why old-age pensioner does not focus on workout even though they all know its sustainably beneficial for their health and it can be tackled by several remedies like using different health fitness programs as well as group activities to motivate them.