Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

It is often quoted “knowledge is power and shared knowledge is power multiplied”. In this technologically driven era, sharing of information about scientific research, business and the academic world has become an effortless task. Some people believe that it is good to share information. On the other hand, another group of people believe that some parts of the data can be too valuable and important to be freely shared. I personally opine that the advantages of sharing information outweigh the demerits. Firstly in the world of science, information from formerly conducted studies and researchers play a vital role. The improvement and advancement of already available technology are based on previous discoveries and data. If no valuable information was shared from the past there would have been no global progress. A good illustration is the numerous discoveries in the medical field that have helped in the treatment and therapy of life-threatening diseases. For instance, the invention of stem cells therapy has helped in creating donor organs in laboratories. Sharing such information helps the young generation be up-to-date with the recent inventions. Thus, they become better professionals. Secondly, it is a generally accepted fact that hidden information has no value. By curbing and not implementing the results of a study, it would be like halting potential progress in the specific field. From history, it is evident that the human race has advanced only due to discoveries and inventions that have been shared with the world. The greatest example is the internet. If this extremely significant technology was not shared with the world then we would still be living in a pre-internet era. Each finding has gone through modification as well as advancements. The improvements made to existing technology, based on acquired data has made our lives hassle-free. Although the information shared can be used for the benefit of mankind, a few pieces of information shared at a global level can be extremely detrimental. Making sensitive information available through public platforms or social media can be hazardous to national security. Valuable information can be penetrated by dangerous terrorist groups. In the digital era, information not only spreads like wildfire but can also disrupt universal peace and harmony. For example, information related to a nations nuclear technology is extremely confidential. If it falls into the wrong hand it can lead to wars. Likewise, data pertaining to business finances should be kept private with the firm. This will aid the company to stay ahead in this competitive world. To conclude, it is of great importance to share knowledgeable information regarding science and business. But, it is equally crucial to safeguard the information that is sensitive to companies and the country.