People are less fit and active nowadays than in the past. What are the reasons for this? What measure can be taken to fix this?

Obesity is such a huge problem for people today. It is also related to the quantity and quality of their activities. There are several reasons for these problems, and various methods could be taken by governments and individuals to improve the situation.  A city-lifestyle and diet are the major causes of fewer activities and increasing obesity. Compared to the people in the past, most people today travel by car rather than walking, tend to work in offices where little physical activity is required. And they are also less active at home after the stressful work and the massive study; adults relax by watching television, while children play video games rather than enjoying outdoor sports. At the same time, many people nowadays eat fast food or pre-prepared meals, which are cheap to buy and very easy to make. These foods often contain too much fat, salt and sugar and consequently, populations in the cities are becoming increasingly overweight.  Regular exercise and a healthy diet are the essential keys to solve obesity problems in any cities. Doctors could advise exercising at least three times a week for 20 minutes, and adults need to take responsibility for making sure that they and their children follow doctors guidelines. A government can also help the situation getting better by ensuring that there is enough time not only for sport on school timetable but also for relieving fatigue on workplaces. With regard to the need for a healthy diet, governments can play their part by banning junk food and encouraging to keep slow-foods from the school menus. Nevertheless, it is even more important that individuals make better choices about the foods they eat.  In conclusion, the standard physical health for the fitter and more active people in this modern society will only improve if they become more physically active away from stress and start to eat more healthily.