In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

With the advancement of technology, the worldwide community is benefited by having the options to retain their preferred books in the electronic formed compared to the paper-based one. Many believe this might lead to negating the number of newspapers and books sales because all content would be freely available on the internet in the next decades. However, I beg to differ from the statement due to the sentimental value of books and legal reasoning. The topic will be explained further in the following paragraphs. It is common for people to collect things that they considered to be memorable and carried sentimental value. Similarly, to the bookworms around the world, although they can still read books in the future, the intrinsic value of owning a physical book is much different from reading it through their laptops and phones. For instance, a survey done by Amzon.com on the buyers of second -hand books shows they chose paper-based books because they can carry them and love the ability to flip through the pages. One participant said every page of the books has their own story that cannot be shown through the digitalized book. She also noted the excitement to tell her future grandchildren about them. In addition, despite the probability of increasing popularity of digitized books, it is not fair if anyone can access them without paying any money. Just like songs, books is a formed of art that was created by someone with a great passion to extend their knowledge to the general public. Just as everyone has to pay a price to attend a concert, all the people also has the obligation to give their monetary contribution to the authors and publishers. For example, in Australia, the authority has been taking the copyright’s law seriously since 2018 so that the websites that sold books illegally to be closed down and brought the website owners to justice. This law was enforced to appreciate the form of arts that often neglected due to their absence to be displayed in museums. In conclusion, there is a great probability that the popularity of electronic books and newspapers will grow exponentially in the future. However, there is an intrinsic quality that books have, that is sentimental quality. Also, we have to give more recognition to the authors as they have put their effort to open a window of endless knowledge to the whole community, whether it is a fiction and a non-fiction one. As the proverbs say, a book is our window to the world.