Nowadays some parents pressure their children to be successful. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

The reason some parents squeeze their children to be an achievement in society is because of their personal feeling. It brings negative impact on children mind. There have other ways to define success. I still do not know why many parents stress their children to be someone. The main problem here is if you stress the child on becoming a successful person in the future, it will make his mind chaos in the present. Instead,they should teach the child to be happy in whatever they are doing. I have one example from my friend. He is a clever, decent and perfect person so far I know. But he became like that because of the tension from their parents. Yet he has been the perfect person, he does not the society and upstreams and downstream in the society. He lacked in taking responsibility in a given situation. On the other hand, I have grown with no influence from my parents regarding achieving something in growth. They have not pressured me a day to become like someone. Yet they encouraged me to make my own decisions. I am not saying I am perfect, but in a given circumstance, my mind works faster because I have been taking my decisions all along. Furthermore, it will have greater impacts if you stress the children. If they are not successful, they might get into depression and feel like a loser. I believe in one thing in my growth - You are never a loser, you just took another path and experienced it. In my opinion, never pressure a child. Leave him what he wants and guide him along the way of his heart. That is what parents must do. They have to watch over their children, teach them how to overcome obstacles in life. Overall, pressuring the children to be successful in life will have a negative impact more or less.