Multinational companies are becoming increasingly common in developing countries. What are the advantage and disadvantages of this?

Multinational corporations are becoming more and more prevalent in nations that are still developing. A primary benefit of this trend is increasing employment opportunities. However, it also entails a drawback, that is, overconsumption of electricity. A major benefit of the increasing presence of multinational companies is that they generate a great many jobs. That is to say, when such a company extends its presence to a new national territory, its offices and factories increase in number. These offices and factories then need people to work in them in jobs varying from managers to peons. Hence, more and more people get jobs. For instance, as per a report by jobindia.com, with the advent of MNCs, such as Fila, in India since 2001, the employment rate in the country has seen a consistent rise till 2020. On the other hand, such organizations also lead to overconsumption of electric energy. In other words, as the number of such companies rises, they need more electricity to run their operations. Whether it is the machines in their mills or their air-conditioned offices, everything requires a great amount of electric energy. This increased requirement leads to overconsumption of electricity, and, consequently, the world may run short of it in the future. For example, a recent survey in Pakistan showed that, in the last five years, it has been very difficult for the nation's government to meet the electricity requirements of its multinational cinema chains, Orbit and Inox. According to the survey, the cinema groups take up approximately 8% (which is very high) of the electricity produced in the country each year. In conclusion, although the increasing presence of multinational companies in developing nations is generating more employment there, it is simultaneously overusing their electricity resource.